Definite Maybe

Yeah, I’m not gonna wake up in time to post this before I have to go to work. So here, the start of volume 20!

Chapter 177

If you haven’t seen already, I put up a translation of the “extra” from Yamada volume 1 in that other post. Enjoy.

Also, if you haven’t already, you should watch the YKTMC drama. It’s really good.

Our titular Yankee-kun and Megane-chan.

I wasn’t sure Adachi could be pulled off in real life, but this chick is hilarious. I’m not a huge Adachi fan, but she sure reminded me what was great about the character.

But the best one…

Shinagawa’s dad.

Was this dude. Seriously, I bust a gut almost every scene he was in.

A word of advice, though: don’t go in expecting canon anything. Just go for the laughs. You want some sort of closure to the series…

Your expectations for a “better” ending.

All in all, it’s worth watching for fans of the series. Funny and touching – I’m glad I watched it. Or maybe I’m just easy to entertain?

This entry was posted in Releases, YKTMC. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Definite Maybe

  1. narengoku says:

    Thank you guys…
    The drama looks promising…will check it out…

  2. geese1 says:

    Thanks for the new chapter!

  3. KaitoKief says:

    Thanks for the chapter

  4. wolfsrain says:

    Actually, the drama was the one that brought Yankee-kun manga on my radar.

    The differences between the two are major. The drama still succeds somehow to remain in the spirit of the manga, even if it’s not a copy of the manga.

    And provides some good laughs, too.
    TimeLess Subs did an awesome translation of the live-action series, so you can expect a polished sub.

    • shark0week0 says:

      Well, I’ll admit that it at least looks polished. They had some really, really great lines, yes, but I’d say, on average, they got about 80% of their lines correct throughout the series. It’s like they had three people translating, and one had no idea what they were doing. Not that I’m really someone to be correcting others’ translations, but that’s my impression. They don’t miss anything plot-important, though (I think).

      It was the only seeded version I could find, though :(

  5. Epistasthai says:

    thank you so much for these! It’s so fun to read.

  6. cellas002 says:

    Yaay! Thanks a lot for the release! =)
    Otsukaresamaa~~

  7. ANONMAN says:

    Can you please reupload the chapter with png 24 or jpeg versions of the original color files?
    color pages are looking sooo bad
    i thank you guys in advance =)

  8. auriga says:

    Thanks for the new chapter! :D

  9. Gaby says:

    Thanks so much for the new release!!! :D
    And for the heads-up re: drama ^^

  10. Mini says:

    Thank you!

    I’m hesitant to watch the drama, I’ve found many times the acting is just so cringe worthy, but if you rate it then I might give it a shot. (Yes, all responsibility is on you now lol)

    • shark0week0 says:

      Well, not to sound like an expert or anything, but the Japanese view film and such as an extension of theatre. Hence, things are…over-dramatacized, and actually considered good acting. There’s a whole history behind it, and if you ever get the chance, take a Japanese cinema class from an art perspective, instead of a narrative one. It’s a totally different experience.

      That said, I found the acting to be excellent/fitting. Maybe YKTMC just goes well with the weird antcs? In any case, the only one I found to be bothersome was Izumi’s actor (I thought he was going to chew someone’s face off while talking, heh), but he’s hardly the focus.

      I am totally prepared to shoulder that responsibility, though!

Leave a Reply

