Just when I thought I was out…

Hello friends!

I return bearing great news: Yoshikawa is back in the game with a new story in Weekly Shonen Magazine’s lineup! It’s called Yamada and the Seven Witches, and it debuted yesterday in Japan. Thanks to an unknown raw uploader (thank you, whoever you are) and shark0week0’s fantabulous script, you all get to read the first chapter today. Here’s a summary of chapter 1:

Ryuu Yamada is a second year student at Suzaku High. Ryuu is always late for school, naps in class and gets abysmal grades. His life is a dead bore. The beautiful Urara Shiraishi, on the other hand, is Suzaku High’s brightest student. One day, without explanation, their bodies are swapped! Ryuu ends up in Urara’s body, and Urara in Ryuu’s.

I was hoping for a departure from the whole high school thing, but it looks like Yoshikawa isn’t done playing around with delinquent dudes and genius students. My curiosity is piqued having read the first chapter, but I remain cynical… I still haven’t forgiven Yoshikawa for throwing Adachi under the bus.

[EDIT: Just woke up to a bunch of angry comments. I’m cracking up at the thought of people thinking I meant that literally. What I meant by this is I don’t like the way Yoshikawa neglected Adachi’s character in favor of excessively propping up Shinagawa. This started happening a long time ago in the manga. I didn’t say anything about the ending or any future events; it was more of a general statement about Adachi’s character. So to clarify: ADACHI DOES NOT GET THROWN UNDER ANY MOVING VEHICLES. I probably should have worded that differently. Oops!]

I apologize for the shoddy quality of the pages. Magazine scans are a bitch.

Without further ado, here is the first chapter of Yamada and the Seven Witches! 

This entry was posted in News, Releases, Yamada. Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to Just when I thought I was out…

  1. Desmond says:

    Hey Shinagawa’s in it!

  2. gonker says:

    it was very funny thanx :)

  3. anonym says:

    haha, what a weird story. I don’t ever read kind this story yet .

  4. commensurate says:

    Throwing Adachi under a bus? At first I was ready to rage at being spoiled, until I realised it was an idiom. One that I’m not familiar with, what does it mean?

    Thanks for this, btw.

  5. Mr.coconut says:

    Thank you very much
    Funny story

  6. Shakugan says:

    Thx for the release…
    Waiting for the next release ^^

  7. Invalid name says:

    Thanks!
    I am one of the Gender Bender followers!
    Thanks a million!

  8. PROzess says:

    No, Adachi gets thrown under a bus literally oO
    xD

    We’ll just forgets about Yankee’s bad ending and hope that this one will turn out better :)

    The first chapter felt pretty much like a one-shot.
    Let’s see if the name holds true in the next chapter.

    Thanks for the work!!

  9. Vannino says:

    fucking huge spoiler!

    ty ;_;

  10. Frou says:

    Wait, you’re kidding right? I’ve been so careful about avoiding spoilers for the ending so please tell me you’re kidding.

  11. paramitan says:

    i just got spoiled…seriously >.<

    anyways, thanks for the chapter!though it felt like a one-shot and it felt like Shinagawa and Adachi, just with a different first encounter…

  12. Bam says:

    I hope there is a PDF format T.T …. My my pad won’t read zip huhuhu

  13. AegisFFXI says:

    This chapter was hilarious! thanks for the release

  14. Rima says:

    Ahahahaha! I like this! Thanks for doing this series! I’m curious to see where it goes

  15. blub says:

    A cameo? Was that Shinagawa and Chiba as teachers?

    Thanks!

  16. shark0week0 says:

    A note: there ARE spoilers in this chapter about the end of YKTMC, but they aren’t huge, and they aren’t what you think. I don’t think Yoshikawa intends to make her old characters anything more than tongue-in-cheek references, though, so read away.

  17. Nobody says:

    Hey, just wanna inform you guys if you want a joint with this series.
    I can provide for raws and editing, we just need your translations.
    Sorry for saying it here since I don’t have any way of contacting your group personally.

  18. Baldulf says:

    Thanks for your work.

    I don’t know if its a good idea to make a new series so similar to the one before. I think Yankee lost a lot of steam halfway (part of it due to Adachi being relegated to a background character)

    Well, let’s hope for the best.

  19. Jasonred says:

    This is manga,and I’ve just been reading RRR, where traffic accidents play a huge storyline part, so, yes, I did think you meant it literally… and I WAS raging. lol.

  20. Chuchu says:

    LOOOOL Shinagawa!!!

    thanks for this

  21. lolix says:

    Ahahhahah that was hilarious,shinagawa working and with the poster of momoko.Either way this manga seems fun, it would be great if u guys started this manga too. :)

  22. GgD says:

    still not convined…

  23. narengoku says:

    Thanks for picking this one guys…Hope its good as Yankee-kun to Megane-chan…

  24. Aréat says:

    Very good first chapter. Think about a romance where the two lover can swap bodies whenever they want by kissing. Would make things quite interesting.

    Thanks for the translation.

    Do you know when the next raws chapter is due ?

Leave a Reply

